1. Greger
  2. Sherlock Holmes
  3. General Issues
  4. Wednesday, 30 October 2019
  5.  Subscribe via email

It is very difficult to add new users for Theocbase to a common Dropbox folder! Has given several invitations to be able to share the folder where the sync file is located, but it is simply not possible to sync for the new users. What is the problem?

Comment
There are no comments made yet.
Accepted Answer
Marc
Members
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
1
Votes
Undo

They would need a Dropbox account of their own, as far as I understand. https://www.theocbase.net/instructions/dropbox-sync.html

 and Help file within TB (F1)

 

See this earlier discussion by some pro's in this field... https://www.theocbase.net/support-forum/post/5350-inviting-others-to-theocbase.html#reply-5354

https://www.theocbase.net/support-forum/1097-donations.html

For accessing the database my personal preference is http://sqlitebrowser.org/

For editing templates I like to use http://brackets.io/ 

 

Comment
There are no comments made yet.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. General Issues
  3. # Permalink
Marc
Members
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
0
Votes
Undo

From "If for any reason things start showing up incorrectly..." I would be hesitant to give a blank confirmation. I suppose that is how you have solved issues you had. which is great. Duplicates persons are the least problems, duplications in the past have had various causes, some of them very complicated.

Especially the workings of Delete Cloud Data, I have never tested. 

Generally: realise that if you change anything, you cannot go back to an earlier version. Regularly make a copy of theocbase.sqlite. (Not through the backup function: I am not sure for now, but that is precisely one of the ways you could get duplicates in the past...)

https://www.theocbase.net/support-forum/1097-donations.html

For accessing the database my personal preference is http://sqlitebrowser.org/

For editing templates I like to use http://brackets.io/ 

 

Comment
There are no comments made yet.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. General Issues
  3. # 1
Steven Stutz
Members
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
0
Votes
Undo

     Thank you so much Marc! Do you know the recommended steps for removing duplicates, deleting students, and making any other edits? Here are all the things I have tried to solve the afore mentioned issues:

1. I have tried deleting cloud data and signing out, and signing back in again.

2. I have deleted the cloud data and synchroned without signing out.

3. I have deleted the syncfile.json and access_control.json from Dropbox, logged out of Dropbox and signed back in again which created a new syncfile.

4. I have completely deleted the Apps Folder in Dropbox.

     The only thing that did not delete all of my information from TheocBase was Step 2, deleting cloud data, and then synchronizing without signing out. That being said I also went into my Database using DB Browser and removed all of the duplicate information there as well. It would be nice to have a manual for using TheocBase quite honestly, so much of it seems to be trial and error. In my case it has been mostly error but I think I have things figured out so I can at least use it. Thank you again!

 

Comment
There are no comments made yet.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. General Issues
  3. # 2
Marc
Members
Accepted Answer Pending Moderation
0
Votes
Undo

I don't think I can suggest a general way to remove duplicates. As said before: duplicates may have different causes. If you go back on the forum you can see there were such issues with the changes from 2017 to 2018 and then again from 2018 to 2019. Sometimes minor things where changed in the new year, and brothers started to import the new workbooks, when developers had no chance to adapt the code. (I don't think they get a signal from the Governing Body about upcoming changes, so whenever they see a change in the workbooks, they have to act quickly. Sometimes they don't and one of the users here on hte forum have to alert them). Forcing 'old' TB to read a 'new' workbook, causes problems. In early 2019 it was quite a complicated procedure to fix those, or rather to find out the correct procedure.

I think I may have duplicates in my TB history, and for a certainty I have duplicates in my lesson history (which we do not use anymore). In the DB there are no duplicates to be found, but in the TB UI they are definitely there...

Do we still have the 'delete cloud data' button? I don't think so, since we do not have the cloud any more. We have the 'remove duplicates' button now, but I have never dared to  try that one... Maybe someone of the TB team could shed some light here. I vaguely remember they may have done so in one thread on this forum in the past.

As for your point 2, I do not think the signing out influences the result. But anyone trying that, please copy your local synfile first. Usually things go well, as somehow on resyncing TB does not think the now empty database is the new data (which would cause your local database to be empties as well!!), but no one seems to exactly understand how TB registers this. (https://www.theocbase.net/support-forum/post/3942-possible-bug-in-the-sync-logic-with-the-changeids.html) And as long as this is not clear: make backups before trying!

https://www.theocbase.net/support-forum/1097-donations.html

For accessing the database my personal preference is http://sqlitebrowser.org/

For editing templates I like to use http://brackets.io/ 

 

Comment
There are no comments made yet.
  1. more than a month ago
  2. General Issues
  3. # 3
  • Page :
  • 1


There are no replies made for this post yet.
Be one of the first to reply to this post!